Cats Daily Tangent

Random stuff…

Did you know that there are MULTIPLE ways to look at any situation? Most of us have our narrow view. We see things through our own experiences and our own emotions.
But have you ever sat down and tried to actually manipulate the way you see something?

I remember years (okay, well DECADES) ago, when I started working. I told my mom about this cranky lady that was a superior. I told my mom she was so ‘harsh’ and sometimes a bit mean. She said, “Catherine, there is a prick in every bunch! You JUST have to learn to deal with them!” And can I say, that was some pretty solid advice??? From that day on, I started every job looking for “the prick” (scuse the language, but it refers to ROSES, not what you are probably thinking…) and voila….Mommy was right! Now, because I new this going into every job, I learned to find these people and “kill them with kindness”. Beyond that, I started realizing that people are the way they are for a reason. Some were just unhappy; while others just took so much pride in their job, there was NO excuse for sloppy work. While even others just lived and died for their jobs and had to take it out on those around them. Be that as it may, it taught me to be aware AND flexible!!! I’m seriously forever grateful for my moms words of wisdom!

Fast forward to children…. I have two. Girls to be exact. Dancing girls!

One of them is preparing for the big world of (gulp) HIGH SCHOOL!!! In my humble opinion she is FAR too young and little to be thrown into the lions pit, but if you ask her, she’s ready, so I just have to go with it!

With this information, I have had a bit of panic set in!! This journey was SOOOO fast, that I realized that COLLEGE for my peanut is JUST AROUND THE CORNER!! (insert crying mom in a puddle of tears on the floor!)

In trying to plan my daughters future, I decided to look back on what was NOT working for us. So, I decided to set a meeting with one of the dance team directors to address my issues and get ‘forward’ advice.

Just a side note; this dance team director has had my daughter for years. She knows her and happens to work at the college of my childs choice. So her words are paramount to us.

First thing I did, was tell her what we DON’T want! All the extra performances were just a bit too much this year! (and yes, I’m aware that my child is on 7 teams and it’s not their fault that at least one of her teams was chosen for most of the events!)

I knew OUR take on this year….but I have to say; after meeting with the dance team Director, and seeing HER point of view, I now feel a bit like a shlub who has turned her nose up at all the opportunities thrown our way!

When seeing how, if we turned our perspective around, we could have taken advantage of the year more than we realized. (When I say “We…I mean my peanut”.)

First, too many performances. If you look at it like you are STUCK…you aren’t learning anything. But if you start to OBSERVE the goings on, and how these performances are actually put together….NOW, you are getting EXPERIENCE!!

We had issues with a small or inadequate stage at a few events. I was NOT happy about that! But after talking to the director, I realized that these kids have enough experience under their belt that they can MODIFY their routine and still create a stellar performance. EXPERIENCE AGAIN!

There were a couple of other things, but I think in the end, we actually left feeling more EMPOWERED than discouraged!!! It was such a lesson in perspective!!!

I think we all get stuck in our own heads at times. Just remember, there are two sides to every coin and multiple perspectives at every turn.

Another great piece of advice I was reminded of after our meeting is, “When you look at something with interest; it’s impossible to judge it at the same time”. So I think choosing “interest” over “judgement” is really important!

I realize once again that we all have the opportunity to choose our perspective. When looking at a tree, you have 360 degrees of trunk to choose from. Do you choose the pretty side with all the greenery? Or do you choose the shaded side that doesn’t grow very well?

Thank about it the next time you are unhappy! Is there a way for things to be turned around? Not always…but you never know until you try!

Thanks Miss Man….. You rock!

Leave a comment